Song Analysis: The Kill by 30 Seconds to Mars (2005)

 

It’s been a long time (December 2013) since I wrote a song analysis blog but for some reason those posts have been my most viewed to this day so I’m bringing back the segment with one of my favorite songs from 30 Seconds to Mars. The Kill is a powerful song about the identity crisis that most of us go through at some point in our lives. I think our identity is dynamic and always changing, which makes it so difficult sometimes to figure out who we really are. With this song in particular, we can see the battle that goes on inside the mind: Who we are vs. who we want to be.

At the beginning of the song he is asking himself what would happen if he just gave in to the person he really is. I think this is very interesting because it’s something I personally think about all the time. Is it better to just fit in to society, be normal, and have people like you even though that’s not your real self? Or is it better to give in to yourself knowing that certain aspects of who you really are will damage relationships and make life more difficult? The chorus “Come break me down, Bury me, bury me, I am finished with you” illustrates this breaking point so perfectly. You reach a level of where you’re tired of being who you are and you just want to break down and start over again.

In the third verse he says the following:

“I tried to be someone else
But nothing seemed to change
I know now, this is who I really am inside
I’ve finally found myself
Fighting for a chance
I know now, this is who I really am”

I think these words are really powerful because it sums up the identity crisis so well. We all try to be somebody we’re not at one point or another for many different reasons – maybe it’s societal pressure, maybe it’s to impress someone you’re in love with, maybe it’s to get a job, maybe it’s so people don’t look at you as weird or different, maybe it’s religious or cultural expectations. I know that, at least for me, all of these factors have come into play and it took awhile for me to figure out and accept who I am as a person, and even now that job isn’t finished.

It’s just so difficult to accept ourselves sometimes because nobody is perfect and there will always be thoughts inside our own heads that bring doubt about who we really are. The reality is that who we really are will never, ever please 100% of the people we know and care about, because we’ll always have negative aspects about us that we want to hide and repress. It’s the people that can look at those negative aspects, and not only not judge us for them, but understand them and try to help make us better, that are the people we need to surround ourselves with.

Something that I often forget, or at least don’t want to admit, is that I can’t do it all on my own. Sometimes we just need to take that risk and give in to who we really are, because at the end of the day that is the first step to becoming a better person, and that will help you know who the most important people in your life are.

Thanks to everyone who read the blog. Please like the post and comment with your own thoughts and opinions. Also recommend another song that you would like me to interpret.

Thanks,

Jeff

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

