What I’m Thankful for in 2014

thanksgiving

There has certainly been a lot that has changed since the last time I celebrated Thanksgiving. I’ve moved on from the college life to working a full time job, and many of my friends have done the same. Therefore, reflecting on what I am thankful for this year has been different in years past.

I have always been proud of the fact that I worked extremely hard to succeed in college and obtain a very good job without taking any shortcuts or having anything handed to me along the way. That being said, there were still many things out of my control in order to make everything work out that I can’t help but appreciate. I’m thankful for my parents who allowed me to live at home after I didn’t find an apartment to move to in Boston. I’m thankful that they allow me to use one of their cars to commute to the train each morning, and I’m thankful that my mom makes me healthy meals every day.

I’m thankful for my coworkers and the company I work for. No matter how much effort and hard work I put in, I could not succeed without the patience and encouragement of my manager, the kindness and friendliness of my coworkers, and the overall mentality of a company that I think truly values trying to make a difference in the world. I’m thankful to have the opportunity to work in the great city of Boston, a place I’ve been familiar with my whole life, and to have well-paying job in a stable and crucially important industry so that I can support myself.

I’m thankful for the health of my extended family, particularly my grandparents who are generous enough to host us for Thanksgiving every year and make it one of the days I look forward to most out of the entire year. I’m thankful that all of my closest friends are still around in the New England area so that I have the opportunity to stay in touch and hang out with them. There are many other things I could list but that would simply take too long.

The bottom line is this: It’s crucial to always keep things in perspective. I fully admit that I tend to be pessimistic and angry far more often than I should. I get upset about sports. I get upset about politics. I get angry when the train is late practically every day. I complain when I have to walk 5 minutes from the train to work when it’s cold or raining. I often make jokes about my bad luck or make statements saying “of course that would happen to me.” The reality is simply this: I am an extremely lucky individual who has been blessed with practically everything I’ve ever wanted, and the things that I want and don’t have, I’ve been blessed with at least the opportunity to achieve.

Human beings are creatures of habit and routine. We should be thankful every single day of the year, but it’s only human nature to get used to the way things are and take the good things in our life for granted. Thanksgiving is a great way to reorient ourselves once a year and put in our lives in perspective. What I would encourage everyone to do is to make Thanksgiving a monthly occurrence. We should be thankful more than once a year, and doing it every day becomes routine and loses meaning, but I think it would make a big difference if we take the time to reflect every month on what we were thankful for the last 30 days. Off the top of my head, nearly everyone can at least be thankful they didn’t have to experience the riots and violence in Ferguson, or the mammoth blizzard in Buffalo. That’s two things that happened in the past week or so.

Do this on a monthly basis and I’m sure you will come up with a lot more. I am personally committing to reflecting on what I am thankful on the 4th Thursday of every month, and will blog about it every time if I have to.

Thanks to everyone who read this blog. Please like the post if you enjoyed reading, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Thankful for in 2014

  1. Eleanor Pierro says:

    My dear Jeffrey. I am sitting here waiting for the apple pie to bake and read your Thankful list. I am truly touched that you included us on your list and look forward to seeing you tomorrow or is it today????

    Love you much Nana PS I made a Banana Lush with you in mind!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

