How Much Do You Matter?

matter

Everyone takes things for granted at some point in their life. We get used to the way things are, and if we don’t see the direct result of something we do, or don’t realize the importance of something in our life until it’s gone, then it is hard to realize exactly how much that action or object can impact you or someone else. I think most people have a bigger impact on the lives of others than they realize, but don’t get to see the impact of what they say or do on others most of the time. This is why I think its important to always be careful what you say or do, because there’s a good chance it could affect someone’s else’s life. There’s always people who look up to you, and you may be a role model and never even know it. We see this happen to the extreme with celebrities. They might realize they have thousands of fans, but they don’t know them personally and they can’t see how their lives are affected by the lifestyle that the celebrity chooses. They matter an enormous amount in terms of the lives that they reach, but it’s hard for one person to have that in mind during everything that they do. The fans seem like one enormous crowd rather than many individual lives that are being touched.

I’ve tried to reflect on how this applies to my own life. How much do I actually matter? At times it seems like I don’t matter very much at all, and I think that’s because I’ve taken things for granted. I never really think about the impact of my actions sometimes. I know I’ve helped many people throughout my life through charity and volunteering, but I forget the impact that had either because it seems like a very small task in my perspective or because I never get to see these people again. I don’t think twice about donating some money to a cause such as hurricane relief, because I’ve been blessed with a life in which $20 seems like nothing to me, even though that money means a lot to people who are homeless or starving or are suffering in any way. Even sending someone a simple text can make an enormous difference. It may mean nothing to you, but to them it shows that you thought about them and that means more than whatever message was sent on the text. A good example for me is the blog. I written hundreds of posts at this point, and I sometimes forget that many people are reading them until they comment or I hear about it in person. The blog likely has a bigger impact than I realize.

Admittedly, this is one of the harder things I’ve blogged about in terms of translating what I’m trying to say down on internet paper. I guess this is basically the interpersonal version of not taking material things for granted. We are always told not take our house, or food, or money, or things along those lines for granted, and that we won’t know how important they are until they are gone. Well, I think the same applies to people. Don’t ever take any person for granted, because when they’re gone you will realize how much they did matter. On the flip side, don’t ever think that anything you do does not matter, because chances are you are affecting somebody’s life in some way. The simplest things such as listening to someone who’s going through a tough time, donating some money to charity, writing a thank you card, sending someone a nice text, making coffee if you work at a coffee shop, and things along those lines mean a lot to people even if they seem simple or unimportant to you. Always remember who matters to you, and let them know that. Always remember that you are important, even if it doesn’t seem like it.

Thanks to everyone who read this post. Please like the post if you enjoyed reading, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

