Movie Review: Equilibrium (2002)

equilbrium

Summary

After a third world war devastates the earth in the 21st century, an authoritarian city-state named Libria is established. With the goal of ending war and violence forever, the government of Libria requires everyone to take a drug called Prozium, which suppresses human emotion. Anyone caught violating the law by feeling emotion is considered a sense offender and burned alive. Any emotionally stimulating content such as books and art are labeled EC-10 and also burned. After accidentally missing a dose of Prozium, high-ranking enforcer John Preston (Christian Bale) starts to question the morality of what he is enforcing and plots to overthrow the government with the help of the Resistance, a secret underground of people who refuse to take Prozium.

What I liked

“Libria, I congratulate you. At last peace reigns in the heart of man. At last war is but a word whose meaning fades from our understanding. At last, we are whole. Librians, there is a disease in the heart of man. Its symptom is hate. Its symptom is anger. Its symptom is rage. Its symptom is war. The disease is human emotion. But Libria, I congratulate you, for there is a cure for this disease. At the cost of the dizzying highs of human emotion, we have suppressed its abysmal lows. And you, as a society, have embraced this cure: Prozium. Now we are at peace with ourselves and human kind is one. War is gone. Hate, a memory. We are our own conscience now, and it is this conscience that guides us to rate EC-10, for emotional content, all those things that might tempt us to feel, again, and destroy them. Librians, you have won. Against all odds, and your own natures. You, have, survived.”

I love this quote because I think it sums up the whole mentally of this movie. I particularly loved the section in sentences 5-10. If you know me or have read previous blogs, you know my stance on the logic vs. emotion debate. I have always thought what it would be like in a world without emotion. I would love to live in a world like that of Libria. No anger, no hatred, no war, no murder. Everyone can just go about their daily duties in peace. Yes, you are sacrificing good emotions such as happiness and love, but in my opinion it is worth it. It is hard to experience good emotions when you are dead. So essentially what I really liked about this movie was the plot, and I also thought Christian Bale did a fantastic job acting as the main character. He brilliantly portrayed a stone cold law official who slowly began to feel emotion and you could see the transformation taking place perfectly.

What I didn’t like

I would have liked to experience more of the world of Libria beyond just the storyline of John Preston. I think it would have been interesting to see what his kids do in school, or how certain other aspects of society function without emotion. I would have also liked to see a little bit more of the aftermath of what happened at the end.

Rating

This movie received a 7.6/10 on IMBD, a 37% from the critics on Rotten Tomatoes, and a 79% from the audience.

I chose to watch this movie because I was fascinated by the concept of an emotionless society, so overall I really enjoyed watching it and was able to overlook some minor faults. My final rating for this movie is a 4/5.

Thanks to everyone who read this review. Please like the post if you enjoyed reading, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in TV/Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

