What Would You Give Up For Success?

At some point in life, we all have to make tough decisions regarding sacrifices. In order to keep moving forward, we have to let some things go. What would you be willing to give up in order to achieve your ultimate goals? What are the risks that you are willing to take in order to make it big in life? This is a question that I came across a couple of weeks ago, and it really got me to thinking about what matters most to me in life. At this point in my life, I would say that starting my career is the most important thing to me. I think once that happens, everything else will fall into place and I can officially start my life in the real world. The question is: what would I give up in order to achieve this?

I’m going to consider three things in life that are very important to most people: Family/Home, friendships/relationships, and religion/beliefs. Would you leave your family and home behind to start a new career and be successful? This is certainly a tough one, because it is very emotional. Leaving family behind is very hard for anyone to do, but unfortunately it is rather common as well. Getting into the real world is going to involve major changes, one of which is usually location. As much as I value my family and my hometown, I would say that I would be willing to move far away in order to be successful in my career. This would not mean never seeing my family again, but just far less frequently than if I lived at home.

Similarly to family, I think I would be able to “give up” friendships and relationships in order to establish my career. I put it in quotes because those friendships are not gone, they just become long distance and take on a different aspect. It is very easy to stay in touch with people these days, and you can always make new friends and establish more relationships wherever you go. I have already gone through this by leaving my friends to go to different colleges. I established new friendships in college while still being able to maintain friendships from high school.

Finally, would you give up your beliefs if it meant you could be successful? Would you work for a company that promoted something you didn’t believe in? With this one, my answer is a very strong no. I feel very strongly that if you give up your beliefs, you thrown away part of your identity. You have essentially just become a meaningless robot that does whatever it is told to do. Staying true to your beliefs is very important because it is what defines you as a person. I am never going to work for a company or person whose ideals or beliefs directly contrast mine, even if it means being unemployed. Not too long ago, there were people who tried to control what I blogged about on here because they didn’t agree with some of my beliefs. Despite my respect for these people, I felt very strongly that I had the right to express my opinion, and that it wouldn’t be my blog anymore if someone else were controlling what was written. Your beliefs make you unique and are hardly ever worth sacrificing.

Thanks to everyone who read this post. Please like the post if you enjoyed reading, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Would You Give Up For Success?

  1. Icesabel says:

    One of the quotes that I live by is “For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson. A topic that you’re threading on.

    I guess it depends on an individual’s priorities. As what is deemed as more important. If someone thinks that career comes first, it’s fine. I always thought that a career was something that is needed in life to be successful as I grew up. After all, we were brought up to be constantly questioned on what we want to do later in life. It actually boils down to what you really need in your life.

    Even if you have all the money, would you have had time to spend with those you love, can you pay back that lost time and what life your kids (present and future) will have and eventually be without you around most of the time. I wished I was closer to my mum, but, because of bills that needed to be paid, I was brought up by my grandparents. I love my grandparents, but, because of this, the bond between my mum and me was never forged and in fact, couldn’t stay strong. But, who knows, maybe someday, it will.

    What does one need? What are people after? To be a CEO of a company or merely just a senior manager, at best? It pushes someone to make choices to spend more time and effort on one part of the deal and leaving another.

    There’s nothing wrong with being successful and having dreams. It’s an awesome thing to go for your aspirations. But think twice… trice.. before making a difficult choice and that you will not regret on your choice later in life. Unfortunately, people aren’t perfect and we make mistakes. So, hopefully, you don’t lose something really important in the future or get to “pay back” for all the lost time, love and whatnot.

    Well, I was twice given the opportunity to work and live overseas, in different countries and on different terms. For one of them, I had already attained a visa, gone for tests, etc, paid for a lot of things, but, in the end, I didn’t go for it because of someone who I love wanted me to stay here. The day I would ever look back and have a simple thought of “what if I could’ve been happier or better off there” is the day I’ve regret on my decision, which, hasn’t happened. Trust me.. I despise living in this country.

    So yeah.. the question lies in what matters to you the most?

Leave a Reply

