200th Post

200

A lot has happened over the past 199 posts on this blog. I would like to take this opportunity to reaffirm the goals and purpose of this blog. There is no doubt that I have written posts expressing my opinions on controversial topics. Obviously, if the topic is controversial there are going to be strong emotions and opinions involved. If you are the kind of person that cannot handle when someone disagrees with you, please just don’t read my blog. There’s no point. A good strategy for reading my blog posts is to read them without emotion, and try to figure out what the main objective point is. Everything I write has some basis in logical and rational thinking. Facts, statistics, proof, evidence, that is the foundation for who I am as a human being. I simply don’t how to think, and therefore write, any other way. I am not saying that I am always right, but simply that I draw my opinions based on logical thinking. If you can present a counter argument that is also logical, I am perfectly happy to listen to that argument.

I am one of, if not the, most open-minded people I know. I really have only one criteria: use logic to back up your argument, not emotions, bias, or assumptions. I’m willing to take into consideration that the moon is made of cheese if you can provide some logical evidence toward it. Whenever anyone says something, the first thing that goes through my mind is: Is that impossible? If the answer is a definite no, which it usually is most of the time, then I automatically have to at least consider what is being said, no matter how outrageous it may seem. It’s not about being right or wrong, it’s just about backing up what you say with logical support. I literally cannot emphasize this enough.

Some people get so offended when I bring up the possibility that they might be wrong, when I simply trying to broaden their narrow minds and get them to think outside the box. That is what I do with some of these blog posts. I try to take an outrageous idea and explain how it could be possible. I don’t regret a single word I’ve written over the past 199 posts, the only thing I regret are the people who misinterpreted what I was trying to say because they were too narrow-minded to consider opinions and possibilities that were different from what they were used to. Keeping in mind that most of my audience does not have the same mindset as me, I will try to make sure I am as clear as possible going forward, but the effort needs to be mutual and done in a respectful way.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 200th Post

  1. frugoal says:

    Very good points and great read! Hard to get on facebook anymore because people post things that seem so very closed minded.

Leave a Reply

