Song Analysis: Close My Eyes Forever by Device (2013)

This song is a remake of the original song done by Lita Ford and Ozzy Osbourne in 1988. The original video is listed first, followed by Device’s version with lyrics below that.

Analysis

“Baby, I get so scared inside, and I don’t really understand
Is it love that’s on my mind, or is it fantasy?
Heaven, Is in the palm of my hand, and it’s waiting here for you
What am I supposed to do with a childhood tragedy?”

As you can tell from listening to the video, this song is a back and forth between a male and female singer. The basis of the song is about a broken relationship between them. The first two lines are sung by the woman, who claims that she scared at how things are turning out. She doesn’t know if she loves the man anymore or if it’s just become something fake. The man then steps in and suggests that if she doesn’t make things right again, he will commit suicide (heaven in the palm of my hands). The wrong thing that was done is this childhood tragedy, which could refer to an abortion or a child with another man.

Chorus:

“If I close my eyes forever
Will it all remain unchanged?
If I close my eyes forever
Will it all remain the same?”

The main chorus suggests that both of them are deeply hurt by what has happened, and they are wondering if there is any solution. Close my eyes forever clearly refers to committing suicide. Therefore, they are wondering if anyone will even care or anything will be different if they were gone.

“Sometimes
It’s hard to hold on
So hard to hold on to my dreams
It isn’t always what it seems
When you’re face to face with me”

This is the male singer speaking again, and he is saying that it is hard to achieve his dreams when he doesn’t even know what they are anymore. This girl was once his dream, but she was not what she seemed, and at some point she lied to him.

“You’re like a dagger
And stick me in the heart
And taste the blood from my blade
And when we sleep, would you shelter me
In your warm and darkened grave?”

Now the woman is singing, and you can tell that she is deeply hurt by what has happened. She is telling him to go ahead and harm her, but when they are both dead she wants them to be together in the grave.

Chorus

“Will you ever take me?
No, I just can’t take the pain
But would you ever trust me?
No, I’ll never feel the same, Oh
I know I’ve been so hard on you
I know I’ve told you lies
If I could have just one more wish
I’d wipe the cobwebs from my eyes”

Now it sounds like the woman is asking for forgiveness, but the man has said what she has done hurts too much. He can never trust her anymore. The woman now admits that she has treated him poorly and lied to him. Her last wish is to make up for what she’s done to him.

Chorus

Bonus Clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDTVEF8et64

Thanks to everyone who read this. Please like the post, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Song Analysis: Close My Eyes Forever by Device (2013)

  1. Frank says:

    I thought this song represented a person that was about to commit suicide and was talking to the underworld demond

  2. Shane Wallace says:

    I think this is the best interpretation of the song I have read. Except in the first verse I believe he has something in his hand to kill her not himself. The tragedy was something she caused in the past and there is no way to correct it. The best she can do is commit suicide because it will never be like it was. In the chorus she asking if she does as he asks, will he take her back. Although he was deeply hurt by her infidelity, I font think he had any intentions of killing himself or taking her back. He is telling her to.

Leave a Reply

