Earned not Given

I have been blessed with many privileges throughout my life that have helped me get to where I am today. However, nothing was ever handed to me. I have always worked hard to achieve everything in my life that I have today. I had to work hard to get into college. I’ve had to work hard to get Eagle Scout. I had to work hard to get an internship. I’ve had to work extremely hard to pass the first actuarial exam. I am very proud of the fact that I earned these rewards by working hard. I didn’t get an internship by knowing someone or having connections and I didn’t pass that exam because I was lucky. All of this to say, it makes me sad to see people out there in the world that do not follow this same path.

There are people who expect everything to be handed to them. They screw around in college and expect to get a job. They collect unemployment because they are too lazy to work. They live off the government even though they are capable of making a living on their own. Kids these days are given a trophy no matter what because they don’t want anyone to feel bad. What does this teach kids? That no matter if you win or lose you all deserve the same reward? Some people think just because they have a certain status they don’t have to work as hard as everyone else and still get the same result. Some people take shortcuts because they are too lazy to put in the effort to do things right.

The main point is that the world would be a much better place if everyone just worked hard and put in the effort to achieve their goals instead of expecting someone else to do it for them or having something handed to them that costs hard-working taxpayers their money. I for one know that I will never take a handout from anyone. I am going to earn everything I get. If I end up in the unfortunate circumstance of being homeless on the streets, I am going to find a way to get myself back on track and not depend on the government. Me taking government money that essentially comes from other people working hard goes against all of my morals and everything I stand for.

Thanks to everyone who read this post. Please like the post, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

