Song Analysis: Animal By Neon Trees (2009)

Lyrics: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/neontrees/animal.html

Analysis

“Here we go again
I kinda wanna be more than friends
So take it easy on me
I’m afraid
You’re never satisfied”

The singer is in a friendship with a girl that he really likes. He wants to be more than friends but is afraid that she won’t be satisfied with a relationship or does not want a relationship at the moment.

“Here we go again
We’re sick like animals
We play pretend
You’re just
A cannibal
And I’m afraid
I won’t get out alive
No, I won’t sleep tonight”

He claims that they are pretending there are no intimate feelings between them. He says that she is just messing with him and he is afraid that he won’t be able to handle it for much longer. He will lose sleep over the fact that he likes her but she doesn’t like him back.

Chorus

“Oh oh
I want some more
Oh oh
What are you waiting for?
Take a bite of my heart tonight
Oh oh
I want some more
Oh oh
What are you waiting for?
What are you waiting for?
Say goodbye to my heart tonight”

He wants more than just a friendship and is tired of waiting any longer. He wants her to care for him in the same way that he does for her. “Say goodbye to my heart tonight” means that he is heartbroken that things won’t work out the way he wants them too.

“Here we are again
I feel the chemicals kickin’ in
It’s getting heavy
And I wanna run and hide
I wanna run and hide”

The chemicals kicking in refers to the endorphins that get released when he is hanging out with her. The power of the emotion is getting too heavy for him and becoming a burden, so he just wants to run away and not deal with it anymore.

“I do it every time
You’re killin’ me now
And I won’t be denied by you
The animal inside of you”

He falls for her every time he sees her, and its tearing him apart. He doesn’t want to be denied by the passion that is within her. He wants to try to convince her to take their relationship to the next level.

Chorus

“Hush, hush, the world is quiet
Hush, hush, we both can’t fight it
It’s us that made this mess
Why can’t you understand?
Whoa, I won’t sleep tonight
I won’t sleep tonight”

He says that there is no use to trying fight against this. It is their fault that things ended up this way, but she still doesn’t understand it. He will lose sleep tonight thinking about what could have been.

Thanks to everyone who read this post. Please like the post, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

