Movie Review: Taken 2 (2012)

taken 2

Summary

Taken 2 is the sequel to the immensely popular movie Taken starring Liam Neeson as retired CIA operative Bryan Mills. Whereas in the original, Bryan Mills must embark on a mission to save his daughter after she was kidnapped by sex traffickers while in France, the roles are reversed in Taken 2. The father of the man who Bryan Mills killed to save his daughter is now seeking revenge, and while in Istanbul Mills and his wife are kidnapped. Mills must use his unique skill set, along with the help of his daughter who managed to avoid being caught, in order to escape from this intense situation.

What I liked

This movie had a lot of similarity to the first one, and that is fine with me. It was action packed, suspenseful, and Liam Neeson was once again a complete badass as he outsmarted his kidnappers and used ridiculous tactics in order to ultimately save himself and his family. The movie didn’t try too hard to upstage the original, but instead took the same basic plot that made the first one so successful and used it as a base to produce another great film.

What I didn’t like

Although very good, I didn’t like this one quite as much as the original. Whether it was the predictability or the lack of creativity in the plot, I ultimately kept comparing the sequel to the original and just didn’t come away from this one with quite as enthusiasm. There were also some parts that weren’t too realistic.

Rating

This movie received a 6.2/10 on IMBD, a 21% from the critics on Rotten Tomatoes and a 54% from the audience.

I can understand the low ratings above, but I didn’t come into this movie expecting something vastly superior and different from the original Taken. I still thought it did a good job in sticking to what made the first one interesting and so overall I give this movie a 4/5.

Thanks to everyone for reading this review. Please like the post, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in TV/Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movie Review: Taken 2 (2012)

  1. Pingback: Taken 2 | Elemental Reviews

  2. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and
    checking back regularly!

  3. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really
    nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future. Cheers

  4. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and
    i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

