Song Analysis: Heaven by Los Lonely Boys (2004)

los lonely boys

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/loslonelyboys/heaven.html

Analysis

“Save me from this prison
Lord help me get away
Cause only you can save me now
From this misery
Cause I’ve been lost in my own place
And I’m getting’ weary
How far is heaven
And I know I need to change
My ways of livin’
How far is heaven, Lord can you tell me”

The singer is singer is crying out to the Lord for help. He is in a desperate situation, and is getting tired of living this life. He wants to go to Heaven, but knows he needs to change his ways. Asking “How far is heaven” is asking what he has to do in order to escape his life and move on to a better place.

Cause I’ve been locked up way too long
In this crazy world, how far is heaven
I just keep on prayin’ Lord
Just keep on livin’, how far is heaven
Lord can you tell me, how far is heaven
I just got to know how far, how far is heaven
Lord can you tell me

He has had enough of living in this messed up world. He keeps on living his daily life but is praying for the Lord to give him answers. Again, he wants to know when it will all end and when he can get into Heaven.

Tu que estas en alto cielo,
Echame tu bendiciòn
[translated from Spanish]
[You that’s in a higher place
Send me down a blessing]
Cause I know there’s a better place
Than this place I’m livin’, how far is heaven

He cried out to God for help once again. He knows that there is a better place for him to be, and this place is Heaven. Therefore, he wants God to take him from this earth so that he can be with Him in Heaven.

So I just got to show some faith
And just keep on giving, how far is heaven
Lord can you tell me, how far is heaven
I just wanna know how far, how far is heaven,
Lord can you tell me, how far is heaven,
’cause I just gotta know how far,
I just wanna know far

He knows that he needs to trust God, and believe that He has the right plan for him. However, he still wants to know how far Heaven is and what he must do in order to get there.

Summary

This song is about a man who is suffering through bad times in his life. Possibly in depression, he cries out to God over and over again. He knows he has to continue living the best he can and have faith in God, but he also wants to escape the world and get into Heaven. A lot of people struggle with this issue sometimes. If Heaven is so great and life on earth is so terrible, why can’t we all just go to Heaven? It is a tough issue to deal with, but one that many people face.

Thanks to everyone for reading this post. Please like the post, comment if you have feedback, and share my blog with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Song Analysis: Heaven by Los Lonely Boys (2004)

  1. brianpierro1 says:

    do a song analysis of expectations 3dg

Leave a Reply

