Exam P Conquered

Today was a monumental day in the life of Jeff Pierro. Eight months ago I made the committment to pursue a career in the actuarial field. The first step in this process was to take Exam P/1, or the Probability Exam. This exam is a 30 question multiple choice 3 hour exam that takes months of studying to prepare for. I first attempted it in September of last year, and it was definitely a wake up call for me. I was way underprepared, not having put the time required into it and not utilizing nearly enough resources. This was a test far beyond the difficulty of any test I had ever taken in my entire life. I managed just a 3 on a 10 point scale.

After taking a break following my first attempt, I had to make a decision and lay out a plan for how I would attack this monster the second time around. I was able to acquire a professional study manual from one of my professors, and also learned about some online resources I could utilize as well. I gave myself 4 months preparation time instead of two, and spent more than double the hours studying the second time around. However, despite a vast improvement, it didn’t look like it was going to be enough to get over the hump.

Saturday, March 16 at 9:00 AM I walked into the test center in Cumberland, RI ready to give the exam another shot. It started off well, with the first five questions being relatively easy. As I got towards the middle of the test things started getting tougher, and I had to start marking questions I didn’t know so I could come back to them. The last third was pretty much the same way as well. When I got through all of the questions the first time, I had answers for 17 and marked 13. Knowing I needed at least 19 or 20 and that I probably had a couple of the ones I answered wrong, I had an hour still to go back and give the problems a second try. There were four or five that I had to end up guessing on, four or five that I got answers for but wasn’t very confident, and two or three that I was able to solve and get right.

As I finished the exam, I knew it was going to be very close as to whether or not I passed or failed. Having never done better than a 17/30 on any of the practice exams I took, I wasn’t very confident that I actually had enough to get it done. As my heart was pounding, I clicked through all of the questions asking about my testing experience without even answering them because I just wanted to know the final result.

“Congratulations! A preliminary analysis of your test results shows that you were successful in achieving the passing score established by the SOA/CAS/CIA for Exam P/1 (Probability).”

210 hours, $400, and months of preparation and hard work had all paid off. It still hasn’t sunk in at this point, but I would not hesitate to rate this as one of my top three accomplishments in my entire life. It took every ounce of brainpower and willpower I had to conquer this exam, and I have never been more satisfied with an accomplishment.

One down, nine to go.

Thanks to everyone for reading this post. Please like, comment with feedback, and share with your friends through social media.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Career and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Exam P Conquered

  1. Aunt Cheryl says:

    Congratulations!! Uncle Tom and I are so proud of you!

  2. Aunt Do says:

    Who says hard work and persiverannce doesn’t pay off!. That was all you hon! We are so proud of you!!!!! Love Aunt Do Uncle John and Madison

  3. ryanpez says:

    Congratulations ! I remember when i first passed P not too long ago. It was a great day indeed, I can definitely feel your excitement. Keep up the good work !

  4. DP says:

    Congratulations, I just passed FM/2.

Leave a Reply

