Song Analysis: Fighting by Yellowcard (2007)

fighting

Analysis

I said I’d moved on and I’ll leave it alone,
But before I walk out there is something that I need you to know,
I got lost in a blink of an eye,
And I can never get back, no I’ve never got back

The singer is referring to a girlfriend that he has recently lost in this song. He tried to tell himself that he could move forward without her, but he wanted her to know that it was him who messed up and now he can’t go back to what they had before.

You were not there when I wanted to say,
That you were everything that right and it wasn’t you but me to change,
Now I got to go it alone,
But I’ll never give up, no I’ll never give up

She had already left before he could tell her that it wasn’t her fault and that it was him who needed to change. Now he has to move on in life on his own, but yet he still can’t give her up.

What am I fighting for,
There must me something more,
For all these words I’ve said,
Do you feel anything

He wonders exactly what it is that he is trying to get back. There must be more than just a relationship that he is striving to fulfill. Despite everything that he has said, it seems that she no longer cares anymore.

I said I’m ok but I know how to lie,
You were all that i had,
You were delicate and hard to find,
I got lost in the back of my mind,
And I can never get back, no I’ve never got back

He told her that he was fine and ready to move on, but this was not true. She meant everything to him and was one of a kind. He made mistakes that he regrets, and now he can’t get her back.

You were not there when I needed to say,
I hit the bottom so fast that my head was spinning ’round for days,
Now I gotta go it alone,
But I will never give up, no I’ll never give up

She was not there to hear him tell her how badly he messed up, and now he must deal with the consequences. However, he is not ready to give up on her yet.

Chorus

Said that I’d fight for the one that I’ve found,
I’m gonna stay here while I wait for you to come around,
I fight you’re apart of me now,
And I will never give up, no I’ll never give up

He is going to fight for his one true love, and will wait as long as it takes. She is always going to be a part of his life, so he will never give up on her no matter what.

Let me know what you guys thought about this song in the comments down below. Please like the post, comment if you have feedback, and share with your friends.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

