Song Analysis: Sweet Nothing by Calvin Harris ft. Florence Welch (2012)

sweet nothing

Lyrics: http://www.directlyrics.com/calvin-harris-sweet-nothings-lyrics.html

Analysis

You took my heart, and you held it in your mouth
And with a word all my love came rushing out
And every whisper, it’s the worst
Emptied out by a single word
There is a hollow in me now

The singer is deeply in love with this man, to the point that he has her hanging on every word. She felt like a single word from him could make her feel overcome with love and empty out her heart for him.

So I put my faith in something unknown
I’m living on such sweet nothing
But I’m trying to hope with nothing to hold
I’m living on such sweet nothing

She is putting her faith in him that he will love her, even though she has no indications that he will do so. She continues to have hope even though she is living on a “sweet nothing”, the notion that he is giving her nothing in return.

And it’s hard to learn
And it’s hard to love
When you’re giving me such sweet nothing
Sweet nothing, sweet nothing
You’re giving me such sweet nothing

It is hard for her to love him because he is giving her nothing in return. He is giving her “sweet nothings”, endearing words or flirts with no deep meaning behind them.

It isn’t easy for me to let it go
Cause I’ve swallowed every single word
And every whisper, every sigh
Eats away at this heart of mine
And there is a hollow in me now

It is tough for her to love him because she has believed his every word but he has given her nothing in return.

Repeat Chorus

In summary, this song is essentially about a woman who is in love with a man. However, she is living on sweet nothing because he does not love her back.

If you enjoyed reading this post, please hit the like button. Comment if you have feedback and share my blog with your friends.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Song Analysis: Sweet Nothing by Calvin Harris ft. Florence Welch (2012)

  1. jazmin says:

    Understandable

  2. Anonymous says:

    thanks!! Just the song I was looking for!!

  3. thomas says:

    any chance I could get a musical analysis of this? like something about the syncopated drum patterns, the lead synth, mastering and stuff like that?

  4. lynlimoran says:

    How about the video?

  5. gee gina says:

    great!! sounds like my situation just as i thought!!

  6. kito says:

    Beautifully written. Thank you. ❤

  7. Bob says:

    I think it is worth note that “sweet nothings” refers to “words of affection exchanged by lovers” and in many ways it is a beautiful word play on that with “sweet nothing” perhaps indicating nothing is exchanged at all.

Leave a Reply

