Song Analysis: Every Teardrop is a Waterfall by Coldplay (2011)

coldplay

Every Teardrop is a Waterfall is one of Coldplay’s newer songs, having been released less than two years ago. One of my best friends who is a Coldplay fan introduced me to the song a year or so ago, and I really enjoyed listening to it. I also think there is a good message behind the song as well. Check out the song/video below, and if necessary refer to the lyrics posted below the video.

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/coldplay/everyteardropisawaterfall.html

Analysis

I think this song is about someone who has gone through a traumatic experience. No amount of physical expression can describe what they are feeling inside. However, there is hope and they are determined to get through this and move on.

I turn the music up, I got my records on
I shut the world outside until the lights come on
Maybe the streets alight, maybe the trees are gone
I feel my heart start beating to my favorite song

In order to cope with the pain he feels from the tragedy that he has had to endure, the singer uses music to shut out the outside world and comfort him on the inside.

And all the kids they dance, all the kids all night
Until Monday morning feels another life
I turn the music up
I’m on a roll this time
And heaven is in sight

As the world around him continues to move on, the singer remains engulfed in his music, feeling better and better that he can recover from his horrible situation.

I turn the music up, I got my records on
From underneath the rubble sing a rebel song
Don’t want to see another generation drop
I’d rather be a comma than a full stop

The singer is now expressing hope for the future, saying that he wants to rise up from beneath the rubble and fight back against the bad hand that has been dealt to him. He wants this experience to be a brief setback, rather than the final conclusion.

Maybe I’m in the black, maybe I’m on my knees
Maybe I’m in the gap between the two trapezes
But my heart is beating and my pulses start
Cathedrals in my heart

More hope is being expressed, indicating that maybe there is a light at the end of the tunnel and he is just stuck in a bad place right now. This serves as motivation for him to keep moving forward.

As we saw oh this light I swear you, emerge blinking into
To tell me it’s alright
As we soar walls, every siren is a symphony
And every tear’s a waterfall
Is a waterfall Oh
Is a waterfall Oh oh oh
Is a is a waterfall
Every tear Is a waterfall Oh oh oh

Despite everything that has happened, there is hope and things are going to turn out alright. My interpretation of “every tear’s a waterfall” is that the pain on the inside is several times the magnitude of the pain being shown on the outside.

So you can hurt, hurt me bad
But still I’ll raise the flag
Oh It was a wa wa wa wa wa-aterfall
A wa wa wa wa wa-aterfall
Every tear Every tear Every teardrop is a waterfall
Every tear Every tear Every teardrop is a waterfall
Every tear Every tear Every teardrop is a waterfall

The singer concludes by saying that despite the pain caused by whoever harmed him, he will emerge out of this a stronger person and not give up hope for the future.

This was my interpretation of the song, and there can be several meanings so if you guys saw something different feel free to give some feedback in the comments. Like, follow, share, and leave a suggestion for another song you would like me to review.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Song Analysis: Every Teardrop is a Waterfall by Coldplay (2011)

  1. Anonymous says:

    That was perfect! Thank you so much!

  2. Lara says:

    thanks Jeff for saving our day!! 😀 haha

  3. Sella says:

    Excellent analysis, love it!!

  4. Al says:

    right on jeff. this song i believe was written for gwenyth paltrow his wife. gwenyth’s dad died (and the song for that was ‘fix you’) – i believe this is the follow up song to cheer gwenyth and her mom up.

  5. iambateman says:

    Thank You So much Jeff…
    Just because of your perfect explanation i can relate every word of this song with my Current Life :’-(
    U Just Made My Day

  6. anonymous says:

    Thanks Jeff really helped

  7. zach says:

    thank you, jeff!

  8. JCC says:

    Great analysis.
    However, I hope you don’t mind, but I disagree with your interpretation of “Every tear is a waterfall”. I think he means that something negative can become a positive and beautiful thing: tear – waterfall; siren — symphony.

  9. Anonymous says:

    this is a good interpretation Jeff I will share this to mall fb wall

Leave a Reply

