Movie Review: Dave (1993)

dave

Summary

This movie is about an ordinary guy named Dave (Kevin Kline) who selected to act as a replacement for the President of the United States after the President decides to take some time off. Unfortunately, the president ends up suffering a stroke, and Dave is forced to remain in office for longer than anticipated. The remainder of the film shows the transition of Dave from a regular guy to someone taking authority and trying to genuinely help his country.

What I liked

I enjoyed this movie for the most part. I thought Kevin Kline did a great job in his role and provided humor throughout the film. I like that they made fun of the American political system several times. The plot was very creative and well done, which I appreciated. I especially enjoyed the ending, because Dave admits to a scandal he did not even participate in, and was able to convict his former Chief of Staff for his involvement in the scandal.

What I didn’t like

I thought it was rather odd that the President’s wife pretty much hated him to the point where they had separate bedrooms on opposite ends of the White House. I didn’t think this was very realistic, and I think more humor could have been added if they just had a normal relationship. I also didn’t like how the Vice President was referenced in the beginning as mentally ill, then didn’t show up in the film until the very end. I think he could have been involved more as well.

Rating

This movie received a 6.7/10 on IMDB, a 97% from the critics at Rotten Tomatoes, and a 63% from their users.

Overall, I think this was a pretty good movie. The plot was unique and creative, it was well acted, and there was some good humor throughout. I will give this movie a 3.75/5.

Please like the post if you enjoyed reading this movie review. Comment with suggestions on other movies you would like me to review, and spread the word on my blog via social media.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in TV/Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movie Review: Dave (1993)

  1. kjthomes says:

    I loved this movie!

Leave a Reply

