Back at Bryant: Spring 2013 Preview

bryant

bulldogs

Fun Fact: Bryant was founded in 1863, marking this year as the 150th anniversary of the school.

Overview

I came to Bryant as a freshman in the Fall of 2010, not knowing what to expect, but being open to a whole new world of possibilities. Since then, a lot has happened, and I have had a very positive experience here as a full time undergraduate student. I have met great friends, became involved in the Christian Fellowship, gone to New Orleans on spring break, and landed a summer internship. Fastforward to now: I am now entering the spring semester of my Junior year and ready tackle the challenges it brings.

Academics

I have been able to build a strong academic foundation throughout my first 5 semesters at Bryant. As a result, there is not as much pressure on me to excel in the classroom, though no doubt I will continue with the same work ethic. What makes this semester different is that I have 3 classes in my major (Applied Mathematics and Statistics), one class in my minor (Finance), and one elective (Sociology, which happens to be statistics based). Therefore, I look forward to learning more about subjects that will be directly relevant to the field I hope to eventually get a career in. I also have a full time internship lined up for the summer. It is a full time internship working in the actuarial program at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts in Boston. The stress and worries of applying to internships last semester will be no more this semester. Two things that I will certainly be focusing on are the first actuarial exam (Exam P) which I expect to take in March, and my Honors Project Proposal due in April.

Extracurricular

I have been involved with the InterVarsity Christian Fellowship since freshman year, but this year I have been more involved in a leadership position. We are trying to turn the fellowship into a movement rather than a group, and this involves engaging the campus. Last semester we handed out pretzels and water to drunk people, played ninja in the freshman dorms, and served macaroni and cheese with garlic bread in one of the halls. This semester presents a whole new realm of possibilities. Some things that can be counted for certain are weekly Bible studies, a mission trip during spring break, and Relay for Life in April.

I also will be looking into joining the Archway (school newspaper) this semester. I have realized over the last couple weeks that, although despising writing academic papers, I enjoy writing for fun. That is the reason I am now doing this blog, and I hope to be able to contribute something to the The Archway as well.

Sports

The main focus on Bryant sports right now is the Men’s basketball team. It is our first official season in Division I, and the team has responded with a 13-4 record so far, including 6-0 in the conference. Winning the Northeast Conference (NEC) would mean an automatic berth in the NCAA tournament. This would be a major accomplishment for a team that had just 2 wins last year. I would also like to attend a baseball game this spring. Our team has been pretty good in past years, but I have yet to see a game in person.

So that is a brief idea of what I expect from this semester. If you guys are interested in more detail about what life is like at Bryant or anything regarding my experience at Bryant or Bryant in general, feel free to ask me in the comments down below or email me at jpierro22@gmail.com. Don’t forget to like the post if you enjoyed it, share it with your friends, and follow my blog if you have an account.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Die hard Boston sports fan
This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back at Bryant: Spring 2013 Preview

  1. japierro says:

    Hey Jeff, sounds like a good Spring coming up. It’s always fun to have some good sports teams to watch, and maybe we can get down again sometime to see another exciting overtime basketball game–that would be really cool if you guys were in the tournament. Let us know if you get something published in the school paper.

  2. Eleanor Pierro says:

    HeyJeff, trying to learn how to get with this program

  3. kjthomes says:

    Hey Jeff, good luck this semester! I know you said a little of the pressure is off, but it sounds like a lot to me! 🙂 Enjoy it! Aksel started back yesterday, too… And found out he doesn’t have a roommate this semester. It’s kinda funny cuz Kyle’s freshman year they squeezed 3 guys into this tiny tiny room! By comparison, Aksel has all the space in the world! Anyway, I haven’t gotten thru too many posts yet, but I’ve enjoyed the ones I read… Keep writing! karen

  4. Cheryl says:

    Hi Jeff,
    I think joining the school newspaper is a great idea. I didn’t know you enjoyed writing but I enjoy reading your blogs so I hope you keep it up. Congratulations on the internship.
    Aunt Cher

Leave a Reply

