Song Analysis: You Think You Know by Device (2013)

Lyrics: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/device/youthinkyouknow.html

I can definitely relate to this song on a personal level. For me, it speaks out about judgment and preconceived notions. I think I could’ve used the line “you think you know but you’re horribly blind” on many different occasions to many different people throughout my life. Unfortunately, being judged is something that can damage friendships and relationships. David Draiman, singer for Device, has said that this song refers to many of his past relationships. When he says “don’t hang on me another problem”, “I don’t care if you believe me”, and “I cannot confide in you anymore”, he is referring a trust that was broken.

“You think you know how this story’s defined.” I can relate to this because society has so many expectations of you nowadays. Everyone tries to tell you how to live your life, and even plan it out for you to some extent. Let me make my own decisions and define my own future. We see this a lot in relationships: one side ends up controlling the other and it becomes a relationship built on fear and obedience rather than a healthy relationship. It is only a matter of time before these relationships fall apart, and oftentimes it can cause damage to the people around you as well.

The bottom line is that you don’t know everything about someone, so you shouldn’t judge them without knowing their past, and you shouldn’t try to control their future.

Thanks to everyone who read this analysis. Please like the post if you enjoyed reading, comment if you have feedback, and share with others.

Thanks,

Jeff

About Pierro Perspective

Bryant University Senior and die hard Boston sports fan

Posted on November 9, 2013, in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 439 other followers

